The Best Psychological Thrillers of 2018 Are Guaranteed to Keep You Up at Night

Updated 05/08/19
Best psychological thriller books of 2018
Fashion Me Now

Summer, otherwise known as psychological thriller season, might be winding down, but that doesn't mean that you need to part ways with the gripping genre. Since we can't wait to cozy up with a hair-raising read in one hand and a generous glass of red wine in the other this fall, we're compiling a list of the most anticipated thriller books of the year to add to our to-read pile this season. Fortunately for fans of the genre, the best psychological thrillers of 2018 are so good that the pages practically turn themselves.

Ranging from an unputdownable novel about the search for a missing child to a twisted Moroccan-set tale of female friendship gone awry, here are 13 page-turning psychological thrillers Gillian Flynn fans will tear through this season. Trust us—no need to grab a bookmark, you won't put these thrillers down until you've turned the last page. Ready to stay up all night reading? Keep scrolling for the riveting, hair-raising, blood-tingling reads that'll cause you to lose sleep.

Give Me Your Hand by Megan Abbott

Arguably the most anticipated thriller of the year, Megan Abbott's latest novel hinges on a life-altering secret that threatens to end a life-long friendship (and possibly, a life). Abbott, the ever-impressive author, will leave you in suspense until the very end.

Megan Abbott Give Me Your Hand $27 $21
Shop

In the Vines by Shannon Kirk

Set on an isolated New England estate, Shannon Kirk's In the Vines is a psychological thriller that'll have you clutching your throat from the very first page. Filled with mystery, murder, and mind-blowing wealth, it's one you won't want to miss.

Shannon Kirk In the Vines
Shop

Baby Teeth by Zoje Stage

Deemed "unnerving" and "unputdownable" by The New York Times, Zoje Stage's Baby Teeth about a mother locked in a battle of wills with her clever and manipulative 7-year-old daughter is a must-read thriller with an unpredictable ending that promises to shock readers.

Zoje Stage Baby Teeth $27 $17
Shop

The Woman in the Window by A.J. Finn

This psychological thriller about an agoraphobic woman who witnesses a crime in a neighboring home is so good that it's earned a glowing endorsement from Gillian Flynn herself. (Yes, the author of the best-selling novel Gone Girl and the blockbuster hit of the same name.)

A.J. Finn The Woman in the Window $27 $16
Shop

The Perfect Mother by Aimee Molloy

A movie adaption of this unputdownable novel (about the search to find a newborn who was stolen from his crib in the night) starring Kerry Washington is already in the works, so you know it's a top shelf–worthy summer read.

Aimee Molloy The Perfect Mother $28 $16
Shop

Then She Was Gone by Lisa Jewell

In the vein of Gone Girl and Girl on the Train, Jewell's thrilling novel delves into the mystery surrounding the disappearance of a seemingly perfect woman with a shocking secret. Don't even bother with a bookmark. You won't be able to put this one down.

Lisa Jewell Then She Was Gone $26 $20
Shop

The French Girl by Lexie Elliott

Described as "I Know What You Did Last Summer meets the French countryside," Elliott's debut thriller is filled with so many twists and turns that you'll want to finish reading it in one sitting to find out what really happened.

Lexie Elliott The French Girl $26 $14
Shop

The Flight Attendant by Chris Bohjalian

The premise of Bohjalian's latest novel is an undeniably intriguing one: When a flight attendant wakes up in a hotel room next to a dead man with no memory of what happened the night before, she starts to wonder if she was really capable of committing the crime—and if she didn't, then who did?

Chris Bohjalian The Flight Attendant $27 $17
Shop

The Favorite Sister by Jessica Knoll

Knoll's best-selling novel Luckiest Girl Alive had us on the edge of our seats, and her follow-up, The Favorite Sister, doesn't disappoint. In this gripping read, five successful women compete on a reality show—and it's all fun and games until one of them ends up dead.

Jessica Knoll The Favorite Sister $26 $13
Shop

Tangerine by Christine Mangan

Filled with deliciously duplicitous characters, the sultry imagery of Morocco, and a shocking finale you'll never see coming, we're considering Mangan's page-turning novel a summer beach bag essential.

Christine Mangan Tangerine $27 $13
Shop

Sunburn by Laura Lippman

Deemed one of the year's most anticipated books by the likes of Bustle, PopSugar, and The Wall Street Journal, Laura Lippman's psychological thriller about a couple locked in a chilling game of cat and mouse is a must-read this summer.

Laura Lippman Sunburn $27 $14
Shop

Invitation to a Bonfire by Adrienne Celt

Celt's masterfully told story about a dangerous love triangle, inspired by the infamous Nabokov marriage, has us counting down until June 5 when it hits officially hits bookstores. We highly recommend preordering this thriller now.

Adrienne Celt Invitation to a Bonfire $26 $18
Shop

Grist Mill Road by Christopher J. Yates

Yates follows up his sleeper hit Black Chalk with Grist Mill Road, a thriller about three friends bound by a devastating secret who reunite 26 years later with dangerous results. Dark, twisted, and at times hilarious, this read will grip you from the first page.

Christopher J. Yates Grist Mill Road $26 $15
Shop

This story was originally published on May 11, 2018, and has since been updated.

Looking for more reading recommendations? We rounded up nine of the most anticipated books of fall 2018 to add to your to-read pile too.

Related Stories