Heads-Up: TSA Won't Accept Your License at Airports After This Date

Updated 05/06/19

Frequent flyers went into a spin a while back following news that driver's licenses would no longer be accepted as a form of identity at airports. The changes were made under the REAL ID Act, which prohibited federal agencies from "accepting for certain purposes driver's licenses and identification cards from states not meeting the Act's minimum standards."

While initial reports stated that licenses would be denied after January 22, 2018, there has since been an extension. According to Condé Nast Traveler, a TSA spokesperson has confirmed that travelers from 20 states will be able to use their driver's license at airports until October 11, 2018. The Department of Homeland Security website is in the process of being updated, but until then, you can rest easy that you can still use your driver's license to travel domestically in the USA.

Unsure if this applies to you? The recent extension applies to travelers from the following states:

  • Alaska
  • Washington
  • Oregon
  • California
  • Idaho
  • Montana
  • North Dakota
  • Oklahoma
  • Minnesota
  • Missouri
  • Illinois
  • Kentucky
  • Maine
  • New Hampshire
  • Massachusetts
  • Rhode Island
  • New Jersey
  • Pennsylvania
  • Virginia
  • South Carolina

Have more travel concerns this year? You can use an easy flight-booking hack to reduce your chance of a travel delay.

Related Stories