Driver's Licenses From These 9 States Will No Longer Be Valid With TSA

Updated 05/02/19
a woman sitting in a plane

Traveling the world and exploring new cultures is no doubt rewarding, but let's face it: The journey there can sometimes be a long and excruciating one—and by that, we mean navigating the airport's security lines. If you're heading to a dreamy destination either local or global to ring in the New Year (it'll be here quicker than we know), it's worth noting that a new travel rule could add another bump in the road to your vacay.

As Travel+Leisure reports, residents of nine U.S. states won't be able to use their driver's licenses as identification to fly; this comes as a result of the federal government's new security rules, which go into effect in January 2018. Those who live in Kentucky, Maine, Minnesota, Missouri, Montana, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, South Carolina, and Washington will need to use an alternate form of ID, like a passport, permanent resident card, or military ID, in order to pass TSA security checkpoints for both domestic and international travel.

Per the REAL ID act of 2005, federal agencies like the TSA are prohibited from accepting IDs that don't meet the U.S. government's minimum security standards, which require that ID cards include built-in anti-counterfeit technology. States are also required to verify every ID applicant's identity and conduct background checks on driver's license candidates.

Unless the aforementioned U.S. states update their ID card process, affected travelers will need to apply for a passport or use another type of identification in order to get through TSA. Of course, considering that the world has an endless supply of bucket-list destinations, crossing a passport off your travel to-do list might not be a bad idea.

Related Stories