TSA's New Rule Is Going to Greatly Affect Domestic Travel

Compared to international travel, domestic flights are significantly more laid-back. You can afford to get to the airport with just enough time to get through security and stroll up to the gate, and if you happen to miss your flight, there are usually a handful of other options. Plus, you don't have to worry about bringing, renewing, or even having a passport. Currently, all you need is your driver's license, a staple of your wallet or card case anyway. But for travelers from nine states in the U.S., that's all going to change.

Starting January 22, 2018, residents of Kentucky, Maine, Minnesota, Missouri, Montana, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, South Carolina, and Washington will be required to present a passport, military ID, or permanent resident card when traveling, even domestically. While it's still a year away, if you're in one of the affected states, it's definitely something you'll want to get done sooner rather than later, or the change could creep up on you and ruin your plans. By 2020, the change will affect all U.S. residents.

Making a trip soon? Shop 25 things our editors never travel without.